Online MBA

Online MBA at Averett University

Private university ยท Danville, Virginia

  • MBA
  • Online MBA

Averett University is a private university with graduate business programs in Danville, Virginia. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 232 students, alongside 1,231 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Danville in this directory - the other 13 online MBA options in Virginia are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask Averett University

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Published price vs. actual price. Private institutions like Averett University often discount heavily through merit aid, so the sticker figure is rarely what admitted students pay. Ask what share of the incoming class receives institutional aid and the median award.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionAverett University
Controlprivate
LocationDanville, Virginia
Campus settingTown
Carnegie classMaster's college or university (medium programs)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment232
Undergraduate enrollment1,231
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at Averett University

Details below come from Averett University's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

Online MBA

Online MBA
$655 per credit 2024-25
  • Credits 41
  • Delivery Online
What that price isPer credit hour as listed for 2024-25, the most recent figure found - confirm the current rate with the school
Estimated degree costAbout $26,855 at the resident rate for all 41 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.
On lengthUnder two years, taking no more than two eight-week courses at a time

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $64,595 Median of 60 graduates working one year after completion -26% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $74,827 Median of 80 graduates working four years after completion +16% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $39,094 Median across 50 borrowers entering repayment About 0.61x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 11 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia online MBA programs directory that report a figure, Averett University ranks 11th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check Averett University's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with Averett University's context.

Compare with other schools in Virginia

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
Averett University This page Danville MBA, Online MBA $64,595
Liberty University Lynchburg MBA, Online MBA $71,483
William & Mary Williamsburg Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $98,269
George Mason University Fairfax Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $112,723
Hampton University Hampton MBA, Online MBA $80,981
James Madison University Harrisonburg Yes MBA, Online MBA $110,442
Longwood University Farmville Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Old Dominion University Norfolk Yes MBA, Online MBA $87,317
Radford University Radford Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does Averett University offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at Averett University, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the Online MBA at Averett University cost?

Averett University lists $655 per credit for the Online MBA. Per credit hour as listed for 2024-25, the most recent figure found - confirm the current rate with the school. Across all 41 credits that is roughly $26,855 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the Online MBA at Averett University, and when does it meet?

The Online MBA requires 41 credits and is delivered fully online. Under two years, taking no more than two eight-week courses at a time.

What do graduates of Averett University's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $64,595 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at Averett University who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $74,827. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at Averett University?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $39,094 for business master's graduates at Averett University. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.61x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is Averett University a public or private institution?

Averett University is a private university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Danville, Virginia. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare Averett University with other schools in Virginia?

MBA Lab lists 14 schools in its Virginia online MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →