Online MBA

Online MBA at University of Mary Washington

Public university ยท Fredericksburg, Virginia

  • AACSB accredited
  • MBA
  • Online MBA

University of Mary Washington is a public university with graduate business programs in Fredericksburg, Virginia. Those programs run through the College of Business. The institution is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

The business school holds AACSB accreditation - one of 13 of the 18 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia directory that do. It is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States, and it covers the school as a whole rather than any one program - a floor, not a ranking. More on accreditation.

Federal reporting puts graduate enrollment at 166 students, alongside 3,566 undergraduates. Total enrollment is not MBA cohort size - ask the admissions office how many students are in the specific program you're considering, which is usually a far smaller number and the one that shapes your experience.

Based on MBA Lab's directory data, the school offers a graduate MBA path and an online MBA format for remote or working students. Format availability changes; confirm the current lineup with the school before planning around it.

It is the only school in Fredericksburg in this directory - the other 13 online MBA options in Virginia are elsewhere in the state, so weigh travel time against fit before ruling them out.

What to ask University of Mary Washington

These questions are picked from what MBA Lab's data already says about this school, so they're the ones most likely to surface a real difference between it and the next school on your list.

  • Residency and tuition tier. As a public institution, University of Mary Washington may price in-state and out-of-state students differently, and some programs charge a flat rate regardless. Ask which tier you'd fall into and whether it changes after a year of residency.
  • What "online" means here. Ask whether classes are live at set times or self-paced, whether any on-campus residencies are required, and whether online students get the same career services, clubs, and recruiting access as on-campus students. These answers vary widely between schools that use the same word.
  • Where the degree is administered. Programs run through the College of Business may have their own admissions timeline, aid pool, and career office, separate from the university's central graduate school. Confirm which office owns your application.
  • Ask for the school's own outcome numbers. The federal figures on this page cover business master's graduates who took federal aid, pooled across several years. The school's employment report will be narrower and more current - ask for it by program and by graduating class, not a blended average.

At a glance

InstitutionUniversity of Mary Washington
Business schoolCollege of Business
Controlpublic
LocationFredericksburg, Virginia
Campus settingMidsize suburb
Carnegie classBaccalaureate college (arts & sciences focus)
MBA formats listed MBA Online MBA
Graduate enrollment166
Undergraduate enrollment3,566
Business accreditation AACSB — view listing
Institutional accreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Official site Visit website
Net price calculator Estimate your cost
Federal data College Scorecard profile

School names, locations, and program formats are curated by MBA Lab and reviewed periodically (last data update: August 2026). Enrollment, accreditation, links, and any outcome figures come from U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (June 2026 release). Always verify formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. How this data works.

Programs at University of Mary Washington

Details below come from University of Mary Washington's own program pages, not from a ranking service or an aggregator. Each card links to the page it was read from and the date it was last checked, so you can confirm anything before you plan around it.

MBA

Online MBA
$730 per credit 2026-27
  • Credits 30
  • Delivery Online
What that price isUMW's general graduate per-credit rate for Virginia residents (tuition plus comprehensive fee) for 2026-27 - the MBA follows this schedule rather than having its own rate
Estimated degree costAbout $21,900 at the resident rate for all 30 credits - tuition only, before fees the school bills separately. Confirm with the program.

Reported outcomes

Median earnings, 1 year out $73,187 Median of 33 graduates working one year after completion -16% vs. the $87,219 median across MBA Lab's directory
Median earnings, 4 years out $113,022 Median of 28 graduates working four years after completion +54% against the 1-year figure - two separate cohorts measured at different times, not one group's career path
Median federal graduate debt $30,151 Median across 21 borrowers entering repayment About 0.41x the 1-year earnings median. Federal loans only - private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings aren't counted

Among the 11 schools in MBA Lab's Virginia online MBA programs directory that report a figure, University of Mary Washington ranks 7th by one-year earnings. Schools that report nothing are left out of that count rather than counted as zero.

What these numbers are. Figures cover graduates of master's-level programs in Business Administration, Management and Operations (CIP 52.02) who received federal financial aid. At some institutions that group includes business master's degrees other than the MBA, and it never includes graduates who took no federal aid - so these are a directional signal about a school's business master's programs, not an MBA salary report. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release. Check University of Mary Washington's Scorecard profile. Full methodology.

Want to see what these figures could mean for your own timeline? Try the free MBA ROI calculator, prefilled with University of Mary Washington's context.

Compare with other schools in Virginia

School City AACSB Formats listed Earnings, 1 yr out
University of Mary Washington This page Fredericksburg Yes MBA, Online MBA $73,187
Liberty University Lynchburg MBA, Online MBA $71,483
William & Mary Williamsburg Yes MBA, Online MBA, Executive MBA, Part-Time MBA $98,269
George Mason University Fairfax Yes MBA, Online MBA, Part-Time MBA $112,723
Hampton University Hampton MBA, Online MBA $80,981
James Madison University Harrisonburg Yes MBA, Online MBA $110,442
Longwood University Farmville Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported
Old Dominion University Norfolk Yes MBA, Online MBA $87,317
Radford University Radford Yes MBA, Online MBA Not reported

"Not reported" means College Scorecard publishes no figure for that school - usually too few federally-aided graduates to release without identifying them. It is not a low number, and these schools are excluded from every average on this page rather than counted as zero. A dash under AACSB means the school isn't on AACSB's accredited list; it may hold ACBSP or IACBE accreditation instead, which this directory doesn't track.

This school in other directories

Frequently asked questions

What MBA formats does University of Mary Washington offer?

MBA Lab's directory lists an online MBA at University of Mary Washington, alongside the core MBA. Formats change - confirm the current lineup on the school's official site.

How much does the MBA at University of Mary Washington cost?

University of Mary Washington lists $730 per credit for the MBA. UMW's general graduate per-credit rate for Virginia residents (tuition plus comprehensive fee) for 2026-27 - the MBA follows this schedule rather than having its own rate. Across all 30 credits that is roughly $21,900 in tuition, before separately billed fees. Checked against the school's own page on July 26, 2026; costs change, so confirm before you apply.

How long is the MBA at University of Mary Washington, and when does it meet?

The MBA requires 30 credits and is delivered fully online.

What do graduates of University of Mary Washington's business master's programs earn?

College Scorecard reports median earnings of $73,187 one year after completion for graduates of master's-level Business Administration programs at University of Mary Washington who received federal financial aid. Four years out the reported median is $113,022. That group can include business master's degrees other than the MBA, and excludes graduates who took no federal aid, so treat it as a directional signal rather than an MBA salary figure.

How much debt do students take on at University of Mary Washington?

The reported median federal graduate debt is $30,151 for business master's graduates at University of Mary Washington. Against the reported one-year earnings median, that is about 0.41x a year of earnings. Federal loans are only part of the cost picture - it excludes private loans, employer sponsorship, and savings.

Is University of Mary Washington's business school AACSB-accredited?

Yes - University of Mary Washington appears on AACSB's list of accredited institutions. AACSB, founded in 1916, is the longest-established of the three business-school accreditors recognized in the United States (the others are ACBSP and IACBE). Accreditation covers the school, not any individual program, so treat it as a quality floor rather than a ranking.

Is University of Mary Washington a public or private institution?

University of Mary Washington is a public university, and MBA Lab lists its graduate business programs in Fredericksburg, Virginia. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

How do I compare University of Mary Washington with other schools in Virginia?

MBA Lab lists 14 schools in its Virginia online MBA programs directory. Use a consistent rubric across them: curriculum, recruiting outcomes, format fit, cost after aid, and location constraints.

Where should I verify program details?

Always confirm formats, deadlines, and costs on the school's official admissions pages. MBA Lab is a planning directory, not an admissions authority, and does not endorse specific schools.

Starting an MBA team project?

MBA Lab keeps your team's projects, tasks, deadlines, and deliverables in one place—built for student teams, free to start.

Get started

Deciding if it's worth it? Try the free MBA ROI calculator →

Want to grow as a leader while you're at it? Explore Leadership Lab →